vinir, mörgæsir, og kökur

You will probably not be surprised to learn that one of the things you do a whole lot when you’re preparing to move overseas is say goodbye.  You also might get to eat a lot of cake, as is evidenced by the photos in this post.  I guess it is easier to photographically commemorate a sugary confection than a heartfelt goodbye.

Anyway, my first farewell saying / cake eating event took place on my last day of work.  I started working at Clark about six months after returning from my Snorri adventure.  I knew when I took the job that my goal was to get back to Iceland sooner rather than later, so I kind of figured it would be a pretty short-term arrangement.  I didn’t count on getting quite so attached to my coworkers, though.  I respect and appreciate each and every person with whom I’ve been privileged to work the last year and a half.  If I had not been awarded the Fulbright this year, I would have been disappointed, of course, but I think I could have been content to spend another year or two with my Clark family.

My last day of work was a Friday, and when I arrived, my desk was covered in glorious Grumpy Cat paraphernalia.  Also atop my desk was a cup full of punctuation marks on sticks.  I won’t even try to explain that, but trust me, it was special.

Only a few of us were scheduled to work that day, but a few hours into the day, my other coworkers began appearing one by one, toting food and drink and adorable babies.  They threw me a surprise going-away party, complete with a Grumpy Cat cake.  Yes, a Grumpy Cat cake.  They may not have known me long, but they definitely know me well.

Farewell, my beloved Clark Penguins. Thank you for teaching me and making me laugh and letting me be my cat-loving, grammar-nerding self.

"I went to Iceland once... it was awful."  Grumpy Cake by Donna.
“I went to Iceland once… it was awful.” Grumpy Cake by Donna.

Then last Sunday, we had a casual little farewell gathering here at the house.  A couple months ago, I had big plans for my going-away open house, but with everything else that’s been going on, I had to let go of that and just let it be simple.  We had food, coffee, and cake.  People stopped by throughout the afternoon – friends from high school, family friends from the neighborhood and from church, even a couple of my high school teachers and a former college professor from Corban.  There were a lot of people I would have loved to see who couldn’t make it, and I wasn’t feeling great all day, but I am thankful for everyone who stopped by to show their support and say farewell for now.  I am also thankful for cake.  Mmm.

IMG_3352

IMG_3355

There are more farewells to come in the next few days, but hopefully no more cake.  I really shouldn’t eat any more cake.

Thoughts?

