catching up on ye old blog: return to reykjavík

Góðan daginn, friends, family, and random readers!  I’m writing to you stateside after a week-long adventure tour and a 24-hour trip home.  It’s hard to believe I’m back and that I’ve really been away for 6 weeks.  I’m jet-lagged and a bit cranky and definitely not ready to process my trip as a whole, but I want to start catching up on some of the daily happenings before I forget what they were.  The last time I posted I was about to leave Patró, so that’s where I’ll pick up.

>>>

Bless, bless, Patró!

Thursday I had my last day of work at Oddi, and we finished early!  Ekki meira fiskar!!!  In the afternoon I spent some time at my beloved Stúkuhúsið studying, reflecting, and writing some thank-you cards.

>>>

Stúkuhúsið study time

>>>

After dinner, Sædís and I drove over to Tálknafjörður, picked up Ástrós and Berglind, and went to the hot pot.  I didn’t take any photos for fear of destroying my camera in the water, but it was on a hill overlooking the fjord, and in the evening sunlight it was perfect.  There’s this naturally occurring green slime that coats the pools, so Berglind and I had fun attacking each other with it.  We also enjoyed watching a crazy German tourist lower himself inch-by-inch into the hottest pot until he was submerged up to his neck.  He must have felt some sense of triumph, but he was clearly in some pain.  We stuck with the safer, cooler pots.

We dropped off Ástrós and Berglind and I said goodbye to their family, then Sædís and I hurried back to Patró so we could stop and get ice cream at Albína before they closed.  Back at the house, we ate ice cream and I gave my host family a Washington photo book and some Theo chocolate (I found the lightest bars I brought and kept the really dark ones for myself!).  Then we played a little game.  I wrote down some Washington place/ferry names (Puyallup, Chehalis, Kaleetan) and Sædís and Hrafnhildur tried to pronounce them.  They did pretty well!  Then Sædís countered with Icelandic words like lögreglumaðurinn and Kirkjubæjarklaustur.  I know my pronunciation was far from perfect, but it must have been passable, because Sæmundur seemed incredibly impressed and once again told me that I must study Icelandic at the university.  Trust me, I don’t need any more convincing.  If I could start tomorrow, I would.

>>>

Sædís og ég

>>>

Friday morning I made the rounds in Patró, saying goodbye to my friends at Albína, Oddi, and the Stúkuhúsið.

>>>

Góða ferð, Brynja! Gaman að kynnast þér!

>>>

Last Swiss Mocha from the Stúkuhúsið… for now. Takk fyrir mig, Steina!

>>>

Then Hrafnhildur and I set out for Bíldudalsflugvöllur (Bíldudalur airport).  We got there quite early and it was crazy windy outside so we sat in the car visiting for awhile.  Eventually we went inside and waited waited waited some more.  A guy about my age sat down across from us and Hrafnhildur started talking to him, then explained to me that he’s her daughter’s ex-husband’s son.  Or something like that.  Well of course he is!  Everyone knows everyone in those parts.

>>>

Bíldudalsflugvöllur

>>>

This is an airport. There’s a runway hiding behind the buildings.

>>>

View of the fjord from the airport

>>>

Anyway, we said our goodbyes and I once again boarded a tiny tiny plane.  I think that Swiss Mocha was a bad idea because I was rather jittery.  When you fly out of Bíldudalur, you have to taxi down the runway, make a u-turn, then take off in the other direction and quickly circle back in the air to clear the mountains and head south.  It’s a bit dizzying and nerve-wracking.  For the most part the flight was smooth, but about 10 minutes outside of Reykjavík a shrill alarm sounded from the cockpit and I swear I saw the pilot reach over and turn it off.  We were tipping to the side quite a bit because we were turning quite sharply, and it happened again.  The pilot seemed unconcerned, but I’m telling you, it did not seem like a happy sound.  Landing in Reykjavík requires some more dizzying turns, but the upside is that I got a lovely view of Bessastaðir (the president’s home) and Hallgrímskirkja in the distance.  In any case, I was incredibly happy to be back on solid ground.

>>>

>>>

Gaman að sjáðu aftur, Reykjavík!

 >>>

Ásta Sól picked me up and we headed back to the guesthouse.  Most of the group had already arrived, so I settled into my room and then spent some time catching up with people in the back house.  Then I headed out to wander the city on my own.  If I felt reunited with the group, I felt even more reunited with this beautiful, vibrant city.  Of course I had to return to the bookstores, check out the tourist shops one last time, and enjoy lunch at Durum.  I also went to Te og Kaffi for the first time, ordered some sort of tea slushie drink, and can proudly say that I understood the barista when she told me (in Icelandic) they were out of oolong tea and would white tea be okay instead?

>>>

That night, we met up at Ásta Sól’s house and walked to Kex Hostel for dinner.  Kex seems like a true hipster hangout.  They served us dinner family-style: French chicken in a red wine sauce, dill roasted potatoes, rolls with smjör, and skyr brulée for dessert.  We were joined by a couple of Snorri alums as well: Stefan, who did the program last year and just moved to Reykjavík; and Helgi, Katie and Breanna’s cousin who did the program in 2001 (I think) and has since lived in Iceland and is completely fluent in Icelandic.  Great food, great conversation, but I don’t do transitions well so I was still trying to adjust to the idea of being back with everyone.

>>>

Most of the group went out for one last night of partying, and although I’m not into that scene, Jolene convinced me to go with her to the Dubliner to see her cousin play. He didn’t go onstage until 12:30, so we took our time walking and stopped near Austurvöllur for some  midnight snacks – a pylsa for Jolene and a waffle for me.  The Dubliner was actually pretty tame and we listened to Pálmey for 45 minutes or so.  He even sang ‘Jolene’ for his frænka.  On the way back we stopped near Austurvöllur again and decided to have 4th meal.  While we were eating, most of our group walked by on their way to Kaffibarinn, but we decided to sit that one out (crowds + drunkenness = grumpy Julie).  We made our way back to the guesthouse, did some packing, and finally got some sleep.

>>>

The next morning we were supposed to be outside, packed, ready to board the bus at 9 AM, so naturally, my alarm failed to go off and I didn’t wake up until 8:45.  It was okay, though, because as it turns out we weren’t anywhere near ready to leave until maybe 10.  Something to know about the Snorri itinerary: 9 AM means 9:30 or 9:45 – except for when it really does mean 9.

Our ‘bus’ was really more of a van, and there were just enough seats for the 16 of us plus Ásta Sól and our driver, Kent.  It was a bit of a tight squeeze, but somehow we fit all of our luggage into the tiny trailer, settled in, and set off.  We didn’t get very far, though – just across town to Ásta’s to pick up our food provisions for the trip.  After that we were even cozier, but we were finally ready to once again say goodbye to Reykjavík and really, truly hit the road.

>>>

…to be continued…

Thoughts?

